Facebook announced that photos from your private Synced Album will be deleted unless you download Moments app before July 7th, proving that digital data is very fragile and can disappear unexpectedly. However, there is a way to save your personal data and pass your legacy to the future generations. Easily import photos from your synced album to a photo book and get a hard copy of your memories that will stay with you forever.
Facebook recently warned its users that it will delete some of their photos unless they back them up using its private photo sharing app Moments. As a result, the app saw a massive increase in downloads, forcing Moments to the top of the App Store. We prepared a step-by-step guide to help you figure out what happened and what to do next.
First of all, what is Moments App?
Moments is Facebook’s photo sharing app that groups your synced photos based on who is on them and when they were taken. Then you can send the album to your friends and they can add their snaps to the folder too. This releases you from a hassle to collect all the photos that you want to look back on.
Facebook started notifying its users that if they don’t download the Moments app before July 7th, photos from their Synced Album will disappear.
What is a synced album?
Synced Album is a Facebook album with all the photos that you snap on your iPhone. Facebook introduced its photo syncing feature, similar to Google’s Photos, Yahoo’s Flickr and Apple’s iCloud Photos back in 2012. Once you snap a picture with your iPhone, it automatically gets uploaded to the private album on Facebook which only you can see. You can access this album using the Facebook app (the album is labeled “Synced”) or through your desktop profile (the album is called “Synced from iPhone”). This private synced photo folder can fit up to 2GB worth of images at a time.
And now my Synced Album is going to be deleted?
Yes, on July 7th Facebook will delete your Synced Album unless you get the Moments app – then all the synced pictures will be automatically moved there.
I don’t want to get the Moments app, what can I do?
First of all, you are not alone. Many people are frustrated with Facebook’s decision, some of them even think of leaving the social network.
Is there a way to save the photos from my Synced Album?
You can download all the photos as a ZIP file on your computer or phone but it’s not an option for some people because they simply don’t have enough space on their hard drives.
Is there a better solution to save my photos?
Yes. You can import all the photos to PastBook, in just one click (read how to do it here ») and get them printed in a beautiful photo book – this way they will be saved forever.
Why getting a photo book is better than storing pictures on my computer?
Facebook deleting users’ data proves once again how fragile the digital information is. Google’s vice president Vint Cerf said last year that now is the time to start preserving our digital data in a tangible form, otherwise, there is a huge risk to lose all of it for good. So much data is stored in the in digital format right now, that future generations will struggle to understand how our society worked because technology develops so fast that old files can be soon inaccessible (or deleted, like in this case with Facebook Moments).
There is a risk to end up with an information black hole because all the digital data can disappear unexpectedly and the history will be lost. What is the solution to this problem? What do we need to do if we don’t want our ancestors to think of this digital era as Dark Ages because no information can be found?
According to Vint Cerf, we should start preserving as much data as possible in a physical format, to un-digitalize the information that we digitalised earlier.
“If there are pictures that you really really care about then creating a physical instance is probably a good idea. Print them out, literally.”
– Vint Cerf, Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google.